top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Black Tumblr Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

One Thing Chronic Illness Cannot Steal

I know so many of us in this chronic community cannot participate in society how we would like. Some of us can’t work, some of us can only work part time. Some of us cannot attend school/ college. Some of us cannot drive, some of us cannot attend social gatherings, some of us cannot talk on the phone… the list is endless.

Being limited in these ways is truly hard in a society that puts value on accomplishments and successes. It’s hard. It’s depressing. It’s diminishing and disheartening.

But I’m sharing, and choosing to live by, another message. The message that my value is found in my life. Not how I live my life, but rather from the simple fact that I am living my life. I have value, plain and simple, that does not change no matter what I do or don’t do with my life. If all I can do one day is watch BBC shows, I still have value. If I can travel to Europe and run a marathon, it does not matter; my value does not change.

And guys! The same is true for you. You are brave for existing. You are loved for being your quirky, unique self. You are accomplished because you lived another day.

Your value is found inside of you, not in your accomplishments. And that's something chronic illness cannot steal.

bottom of page