top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Black Tumblr Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Whoever Said We Have To Be Okay?

Guys, I had an aha moment this weekend. I realized something super duper important that should be obvious but somehow isn’t. Are you ready for it?

We don’t have to be okay with our situation.

For some reason, healthy people have this unrealistic idea that sick or disabled people are happy with their circumstances. This idea gets rubbed off on us. But it’s so wrong.

If a family member just died, you wouldn’t be okay with it. If your significant other had to suddenly move hours away, you wouldn’t be okay with it. If your dog got lost, you wouldn’t be okay with it. Likewise you don’t have to be okay with your illness.

I’m not okay with using a wheelchair.

I’m not okay with not being able to work.

I’m not okay with being on medications.

I’m not okay with losing opportunities and abilities.

But -and here’s the important part- that doesn’t mean we aren’t accepting and thriving. We can be happy and lovely and worthy, despite being not okay with our circumstances. Don’t be so hard on yourselves, kids. Adjusting takes time. (And if you're wondering, I'm holding an ungodly amount of colonoscopy prep).

bottom of page