top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Black Tumblr Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Celebrating Birthdays With Chronic Illness

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday dear meee

Y'all have probably already guessed what I'm writing about, but I'll tell ya anyway. Over the weekend I had a birthday. A pretty big birthday. The thing is, sometimes it’s really hard to celebrate birthdays when you live with chronic illness(es). I know that I have the tendency to be like “Oh yay, another year of being sick has gone by and I have nothing to show for it…” But, guys, that’s the TOTAL wrong attitude.

Was this past year hard, difficult, and downright unpleasant sometimes? Yes. But I also had some fun adventures. I visited a frozen lake in the middle of winter. I saw my little sister graduate high school. I froze my butt off taking said sister’s senior pics in -11 F weather with crazy friends. I made memories with family I hadn’t seen in years and got to rub Lincoln’s lucky nose again (google it guys, it’s a thing).

And you know what, this year is going to be even more fabulous. I’ve already decided that, and I will live by it. I have a fresh start, I know my worth, and I’m determined.

So while I could be (and had a few moments where I was) depressed, I’ve decided that this year will be magnificent. So let it be written, so let it be done *snaps fingers*. Now enjoy some art I saw this weekend that looks like a digestive tract.

bottom of page